A Heart to Listen: Learning to Become a Listening Person

Author(s): Michael Mitton


istening has become a lost art in our world, which has grown ever noisier, more superficial and stressed. We forget about listening not only to others but to God, to ourselves, to our communities - and even to the needs of our planet. If we do not listen, we cannot hope to grow in wisdom, to deepen relationships with others, or to share our faith in sensitive and appropriate ways. This new edition of A Heart to Listen explores how, with God's help, we can relearn the essential art of listening. Michael Mitton interweaves biblical reflection with insights from many years of listening ministry in the UK and abroad. To speak to heart as well as head, he concludes each chapter with an episode from a creative story that tells of people listening and learning from one another in a challenging cross-cultural setting.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The words to describe this book might be 'powerful gentleness'. Church Times An easy read, in short chapters that you can absorb, a bit at a time. But I doubt that you will be able to put it down. It will inspire and challenge. lion&lamb This is... a book which identifies listening as something which is right at the heart of Christian spirituality and indeed theology and the Gospel. Chrism

The Revd Michael Mitton is Project Officer for Renewing Ministry in Derby Diocese. He was previously Deputy Director of the Acorn Christian Foundation, heading up Acorn's Christian Listeners, and was Director of Anglican Renewal Ministries (ARM) 1989-97. He has written and co-authored a number of books, including Wild Beasts and Angels (DLT 2000), Restoring the Woven Cord (DLT 1995), Healing Death's Wounds (with Russ Parker, Eagle 2002), Saints at Prayer (ARM 1994). Most recently he has written A Heart to Listen (BRF, 2004).

General Fields

  • : 9781841017471
  • : Bible Reading Fellowship
  • : Bible Reading Fellowship
  • : May 2010
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Michael Mitton
  • : Paperback
  • : 168